Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Need help! Actors/Units/Commands

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Need help! Actors/Units/Commands

    Alright, I'm trying to create a copy of a Marine, to act like a Viking in that it can change from ground to air, but still remain a Marine. [Think Buzz Lightyear, infact, thats what I'm trying to do]

    The Data Editor is very daunting, I know to make two copies of a Marine, but should I straight up Copy the Viking and work from there? I intend to give the Marine wings so he can give the effect of flying.

  2. #2
    Maul's Avatar Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,218

    Default Re: Need help! Actors/Units/Commands

    Just give the marine the ability "Viking - Fighter Mode" and change the field "Info - Unit" to the marine that can fly. In the copy of the marine that can fly, change it's mover type to Fly and change it's collider from ground to flying. Don't forget to add in the "Viking - Fighter Mode" to the marines command card.

    If you get stuck with anything just let me know but that should about do it.
    I really need to change this...
    Check out my maps: Maul's Spirial Turret Defense and Maul's Risk: Bel'shir

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Need help! Actors/Units/Commands

    Okay, having done all that, I don't get a Marine, I get a small ball with the color of the team its on. Help!

  4. #4
    Maul's Avatar Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,218

    Default Re: Need help! Actors/Units/Commands

    Change the data type up the top from Units to Actors and find your duplicated marine. Then under Models on the left select Marine or Marine copy, and on the right side find the field "Model". The value should be something weird, but instead change it to Assets\Units\Terran\Marine\Marine.m3 and it should work. If you're having problems with the sounds or other models just follow the same steps.
    I really need to change this...
    Check out my maps: Maul's Spirial Turret Defense and Maul's Risk: Bel'shir

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Need help! Actors/Units/Commands

    Neeeeverrrr mind.. Fixed it
    Last edited by Brimcon; 06-27-2010 at 01:46 PM. Reason: Fixed.

  6. #6
    Maul's Avatar Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,218

    Default Re: Need help! Actors/Units/Commands

    You're welcome...
    I really need to change this...
    Check out my maps: Maul's Spirial Turret Defense and Maul's Risk: Bel'shir

Similar Threads

  1. Add units to map maker
    By Lopan91 in forum StarCraft Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-21-2010, 10:17 PM
  2. Units in SC2 don't do what you tell them to
    By Gradius in forum StarCraft Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 05-13-2010, 06:45 PM
  3. How do units control?
    By milo in forum StarCraft Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 06:21 PM
  4. Units & Buildings we haven't seen?
    By moosh in forum StarCraft Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-03-2010, 03:22 PM
  5. How many commands can be put in a waypoint list?
    By n00bonicPlague in forum StarCraft Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 01-11-2010, 02:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •