Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Overmind's Voice - mod for SC2

  1. #1
    Existor's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    96

    Default Overmind's Voice - mod for SC2

    Warning! This mini-mod is not affect to gameplay and BattleNet, because there only voice replacement!

    WARNING!!! Officially it's not allowed to modify game files. You are installing this mod for your own risk



    - wall of text, but after you'll read it, your Zergs will be with Overmind voice instead grandmother voice -

    I know, that many players don't like new Zerg announcer voice. In SC2 we heard old grandmother's voice for Zergs. Yes, Overmind was killed in SC1, but... his voice is more cool, than new.

    I've created small modification for StarCraft 2 with Overmind's voice for Zerg.

    Some voice changes in this mod
    - fixed some bad replies, like "Spawn moar overlooods" to "Spawn more overlords"
    - deleted long pauses from some replies
    - added echo and some sound effects, that makes voices more like Overmind from SC1 and from SC2 vampaign from one of Zeratul's briefings

    Another good thing for this MOD - you can play with this mod in MULTIPLAYER, and of course, in ranked matches too.

    It's a compromise between SC1 Overmind (announcer) and SC2 Overmind (Zeratul's campaign)
    SC1 Overmind voice
    [SPOILER]SC2 Overmind voice

    You can download it in 2 versions - russian and english.

    Download:

    * links deleted, because Blizzard can ban you for replacing VOICE files *

    Installing

    First read this topic: http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/view...opic_id=142356 how to repplace ingame files -OR- read this first post instructions.

    1) Make file-copies for StarCraft II/Mods/Liberty.SC2Mod/enGB.SC2Assets _AND MAYBE_ StarCraft II/Versions/Base/15405/patch-enGB.SC2Archive (if this file exists. I don't know, did Blizzard replaced announcer voice "We must place that on vespene geyser" to "On vespene geyser")

    2) Download MPQ Editor.

    3) Open enGB.SC2Assets and go to LocalizedData -> Sounds -> ZergUnitVO -> Queen. Select all sound files from downloaded archive (from eng or rus folders) and move them to MPQEditor's window with replacing original voice .ogg files. COnfirm replacement.

    4) *If Blizzard added shorter reply about "place on vespene geyser", if not, miss this paragraph* Open StarCraft II/Versions/Base15405/patch-enGB.SC2Archive like you're opened previous archive and go in MPQEditor to folder Liberty.SC2Mod -> ruRU.SC2Assets -> LocalizedData -> Sounds -> ZergUnitVO -> Queen, where you must replace only ONE file - Alert_ZergPlaceOnVespeneGeyser.ogg

    4) Confirm replacement and CLOSE MPQ EDITOR. If you didn't closed it, SC2 will have some problems

    5) Start StarCraft 2 and play with Overmind's voice

    P.S. If you want test new voices without changing game files, open voice .ogg-files in any media-player.
    Last edited by Existor; 08-23-2010 at 04:40 PM.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Overmind's Voice - mod for SC2

    Hey, Existor! Nice to see you around here!
    Remember me? :P

    Kudos to Arkceangel for the Terran avatar and sig!

  3. #3
    Existor's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    96

    Default Re: Overmind's Voice - mod for SC2

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex06 View Post
    Hey, Existor! Nice to see you around here!
    Remember me? :P
    Alex06 ? Hm, where are you I saw? CnCSaga or forums.commandandconquer.com?

  4. #4

    Default Re: Overmind's Voice - mod for SC2

    Quote Originally Posted by Existor View Post
    Alex06 ? Hm, where are you I saw? CnCSaga or forums.commandandconquer.com?
    Both, actually.

    And heh, if only this could be turned into an actual mod, and have all the buildings use the Overmind portrait!

    Kudos to Arkceangel for the Terran avatar and sig!

  5. #5
    gastrop0d's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: Overmind's Voice - mod for SC2

    Yeah I have to admit the new Zerg voice is a little... lame. I always loved the tone of the Overmind's voice, and the mindset it gave you while playing in SC1.

    Nice work!

  6. #6
    Existor's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    96

    Default Re: Overmind's Voice - mod for SC2

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex06 View Post
    Both, actually.

    And heh, if only this could be turned into an actual mod, and have all the buildings use the Overmind portrait!
    I've also tested it. There are no specific "Building portrait", only protoss and terran have executor and adjutant portraits, zergs have only overlord's portrait. I don't know, where it can be changed for use other portrait. One solution - replace Overlord portrait with some other, but Overlord-unit will have same portrait

    And I've tested overmind portrait - it's not ready, one colored portrait with graphical glitches

  7. #7

    Default Re: Overmind's Voice - mod for SC2

    I'm sorry but those are pretty terrible. Half of them sound like a Dragoon.

  8. #8
    Existor's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    96

    Default Re: Overmind's Voice - mod for SC2

    Quote Originally Posted by Hav0x View Post
    I'm sorry but those are pretty terrible. Half of them sound like a Dragoon.
    There are 2 versions of voices - with bass, echoes and effects, and only with bass.

    It's very similar to overmind from SC1 + from zeratul's briefing (where overmind talking) from SC2

  9. #9

    Default Re: Overmind's Voice - mod for SC2

    Quote Originally Posted by Existor View Post
    . . .

    And I've tested overmind portrait - it's not ready, one colored portrait with graphical glitches
    Why would they even bother putting it in the game if it wasn't ready?

  10. #10
    Existor's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    96

    Default Re: Overmind's Voice - mod for SC2

    Quote Originally Posted by Muspelli View Post
    Why would they even bother putting it in the game if it wasn't ready?
    My mistake. It's ready, but you're need put after portrait some other files (textures for this portrait, facial files (portrait animating with unit replies) and some other files)
    Last edited by Existor; 08-10-2010 at 03:41 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. The Dark Voice and the Voice in the Darkness
    By Brutaxilos in forum StarCraft Universe Lore Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 08-26-2010, 10:45 PM
  2. Voice chat
    By RODTHEGOD in forum StarCraft II Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-09-2010, 01:39 AM
  3. The Overmind And The Voice: Are They The Same?
    By mr. peasant in forum StarCraft Universe Lore Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-16-2010, 07:56 PM
  4. Comparison of SC2 voice over to SC1 voice over
    By Wankey in forum StarCraft II Discussion
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 03-11-2010, 06:50 AM
  5. The Voice in The Darkness
    By Roland in forum StarCraft Universe Lore Discussion
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 01-21-2010, 04:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •