Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Overheating Bug (MUST READ)

  1. #1

    Default Overheating Bug (MUST READ)

    The following information was taken from: http://gameinformer.com/b/news/archi...ating-bug.aspx


    Apparently, the game's menu screens aren't framerate-limited. This means that when there's nothing else going on, your graphics hardware renders the bejeezus out of those screens, causing nasty overheating problems. The fix is easy, requiring players to add the following lines to your "Documents\StarCraft II\variables.txt" file:

    frameratecapglue=30
    frameratecap=60

  2. #2

    Default Re: Overheating Bug (MUST READ)

    They should patch it. I don't want to change anything just incase I ruin it. I'm notorious for that.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Overheating Bug (MUST READ)

    They will patch it. I'm sure they don't want to put out a patch just to change 2 lines of a config file.
    Last edited by Hav0x; 07-29-2010 at 05:54 PM.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: Overheating Bug (MUST READ)

    Make a copy of your old variables.txt file just in case. Make the change. No risk.

  5. #5
    TheEconomist's Avatar Lord of Economics
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    6,895

    Default Re: Overheating Bug (MUST READ)

    Does that cap in-game too?

    I don't have to worry though because I have a beefy case fan but there's really no reason to make the graphics card work harder than it has to.



    Rest In Peace, Old Friend.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Overheating Bug (MUST READ)

    Thanks for posting. This game cooks my laptop's video card in a bad way.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Overheating Bug (MUST READ)

    Wow! That explains the problems I had lately... Damn it Blizzard!

  8. #8

    Default Re: Overheating Bug (MUST READ)

    Quote Originally Posted by sandwich_bird View Post
    Wow! That explains the problems I had lately... Damn it Blizzard!
    They had this same problem in beta but they patched it and capped the framerate of menus. They must have forgotten to include it in retail.

  9. #9
    McTwist's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: Overheating Bug (MUST READ)

    Quote Originally Posted by Hav0x View Post
    They had this same problem in beta but they patched it and capped the framerate of menus. They must have forgotten to include it in retail.
    "woops"...

  10. #10

    Default Re: Overheating Bug (MUST READ)

    Strange, my menu's are capped at a solid 63fps but ingame I can go up to 100s. I didnt make this config change either.

    Your source for sound, logical and reasonable responses.


Similar Threads

  1. patching help starcraft 2 beta please read and help me out
    By saga in forum StarCraft II Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 08:01 AM
  2. (WAYRN) Read any good books recently?
    By Eligor in forum Off-Topic Lounge
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 06-30-2010, 10:34 AM
  3. Coming battle.net changes poll (Read the post before voting)
    By SinsWage in forum StarCraft II Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-23-2010, 05:59 PM
  4. Info about this forum *READ BEFORE MAKING A THREAD*
    By sandwich_bird in forum Site Issues / Feedback
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-24-2010, 03:29 AM
  5. Where can we see/read the conference call tomorrow?
    By ragsash in forum StarCraft II Discussion
    Replies: 58
    Last Post: 02-10-2010, 05:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •