Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Match Making?

Default Match Making?

So what do you guys think? How's the matchmaking system? Do you end up facing a lot of people around your skill level?

Dale's Avatar Junior Member

Default Re: Match Making?

From what I've seen in all the live streams, they are much better than SC1. It looks like we will be less likely to get paired up against a total noob or a 1337 Pr0. But its definitely not impossible.

For example, Gifted used a whole day testing out random builds (a good portion of which were not viable). The next day, when he wanted to play seriously, the match making system began favoring his opponents which were obviously not as skilled as him.

The point being: the match making system is mathematical system. It can only "learn" what it sees. And sometimes what it sees is not the true skill of the player. Which means it can never really tabulate what your true skill is. But it will definitely make a closer guess than the match making systems of the past, methinks.

That's purely speculation. I haven't played the beta myself.

i have a question, can ur skill level go down? some people might not play for a while and get worse and the only people they get paired with are uber pros

Quote Originally Posted by Brutaxilos View Post
    i have a question, can ur skill level go down? some people might not play for a while and get worse and the only people they get paired with are uber pros
    I believe Dale just answered your question, right before that.

He said Gifted spent a whole day testing builds, and not playing well.
    But the next day, when he played seriously, he was matched with lower skilled people, therefore meaning it went down.

My personal experience: