Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: StarCraft II Beta System Requirements Announced

  1. #1
    Gradius's Avatar Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    9,988

    Default StarCraft II Beta System Requirements Announced


  2. #2

    Default Re: StarCraft II Beta System Requirements Announced

    To quote the nazi in inglorious bastards


    How Fun! Thats right. I just quoted a nazi.
    Last edited by ArcherofAiur; 01-29-2010 at 01:11 PM. Reason: Just to clarify, I am not a nazi.

  3. #3
    Godless's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    58

    Default Re: StarCraft II Beta System Requirements Announced

    Beta?

    But seriously, those minimum requirements are ridiculous. Probably all you need to get the main menu.

  4. #4

    Default Re: StarCraft II Beta System Requirements Announced

    Quote Originally Posted by Godless View Post
    Beta?

    But seriously, those minimum requirements are ridiculous. Probably all you need to get the main menu.
    No, i think you overestimate SC2 graphics or underestimate Blizzard talent to optimize their games.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: StarCraft II Beta System Requirements Announced

    *crosses fingers* finally something from blizzard that makes me think maybe just maybe beta will come soon
    I live for the swarm!

  6. #6

    Default Re: StarCraft II Beta System Requirements Announced

    Damn blizzard is so good at optimizing there games lol


    Cool stuff, "Final stretch guys"
    "No matter what side of the argument you are on, you always find people on your side that you wish were on the other."
    Be sure to check out the best #$*&#$ video game show ever Epileptic Gaming and the lastest episode on youtube NOW IN HD
    - Oh its a egg I wonder whats inside! =)

  7. #7

    Default Re: StarCraft II Beta System Requirements Announced

    No, i think you overestimate SC2 graphics or underestimate Blizzard talent to optimize their games.
    It's not so much about optimization as how good you want it to look. I wouldn't expect the game to look very good on a GeForce 2. And given the quality of the drivers that ATI had back in the 7xxx days, I wouldn't expect the game to even function on the 7200.

    Remember: all the pictures we've seen are from the game on a good machine.
    "When I became a man I put away childish things, including the fear of childishness and the desire to be very grown up." - C. S. Lewis

    "You simply cannot design a mechanic today to mimic the behaviour of a 10-year old mechanic that you removed because nearly nobody would like them today." - Norfindel, on the Macro Mechanics

    "We want to focus the player on making interesting choices and not just a bunch of different klicks." - Dustin Browder

    StarCraft 2 Beta Blog

  8. #8
    Gradius's Avatar Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    9,988

    Default Re: StarCraft II Beta System Requirements Announced

    Quote Originally Posted by Nicol Bolas View Post
    Remember: all the pictures we've seen are from the game on a good machine.
    Yep, for us lower-end guys it only goes downhill from here. The game will be optimized even further for release though. I heard that the difference between War3 beta and release was quite substantial.

  9. #9
    Pandonetho's Avatar SC:L Addict
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5,214

    Default Re: StarCraft II Beta System Requirements Announced

    It's not so much about optimization as how good you want it to look. I wouldn't expect the game to look very good on a GeForce 2. And given the quality of the drivers that ATI had back in the 7xxx days, I wouldn't expect the game to even function on the 7200.

    Remember: all the pictures we've seen are from the game on a good machine.
    This. The game will probably look like absolute crap on the lowest quality, but hey, gameplay before graphics amirite?

    Out of curiosity
    # Operating system:Windows 2.5.1.2600 (SP 3)
    # CPU type: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.80GHz
    # CPU Speed (GHz):1.816
    # System memory (GB):2.499
    # Graphics card model:Radeon X1950 Pro
    # Graphics card driver:ati2dvag.dll
    # Desktop resolution:1024x768
    # Hard disk size (GB):127.99
    # Hard disk free space (GB):100.426

    It's my old comp's specs. How well would this run the beta? Because I have - (negative)100% knowledge about computer specs.
    Last edited by Pandonetho; 01-29-2010 at 02:24 PM.

  10. #10

Similar Threads

  1. SC2 System Requirements Revealed
    By Sydarm in forum StarCraft II Discussion
    Replies: 114
    Last Post: 04-26-2010, 04:51 PM
  2. [False] Beta to be announced very soon?
    By deadlyhazard in forum StarCraft II Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-21-2009, 08:47 AM
  3. PS3 Slim announced at Gamescon Expo
    By GentleBen in forum Off-Topic Lounge
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-19-2009, 02:35 PM
  4. More System Requirements Information
    By TheEconomist in forum StarCraft II Discussion
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 05-27-2009, 11:44 AM
  5. May vespene laughs winners announced
    By Blazur in forum StarCraft II Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-27-2009, 04:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •