PDA

View Full Version : Warning: Battlefield 3 & starcraft 2



Hamshank
10-29-2011, 03:03 PM
The new Nvidia drivers required for Battlefield 3 have fucked up a lot of GPUS / Comps. Starcraft 2 campaign is no longer playable without crash, some custom maps have problems, and very rarely it crashes on melee.

Download at your own risk! So far there is no solution on nvidia forums

http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=207666&hl=starcraft%202&st=640

Twilice
10-29-2011, 03:07 PM
Damned I already downloaded it a while ago, ah well I haven't played enough Starcraft 2 to have experienced it.

Alex06
10-29-2011, 04:20 PM
Still using 275. 280 caused some spikes in energy consumption, even when idle, and well, this...Heh. Looks like I won't be upgrading the nVidia drivers for a while.

Hamshank
10-29-2011, 04:47 PM
reverting drivers does not fix the problem! this is really serious

Twilice
10-29-2011, 05:15 PM
Hm I guess I should test it out and see if I got any problems.

TheEconomist
10-29-2011, 05:35 PM
For once, I'm glad I don't have an nVidia. They usually have the best drivers, by far.

Twilice
10-29-2011, 07:29 PM
So far no problems for me with the driver. We are talking about driver 8.17.12.8562 right?
Played through the first missions, and well I was more surprised that I did find it more fun then I thought :P Clicking through all those characters etc. Really going for what I want and trying to play in a good "canonical" order. Since I wanted it a bit more casual I'm only playing it on hard.

Eligor
10-30-2011, 12:04 AM
Are those the same drivers that were issued to fix the problems with Rage? They work for me just fine.

Hamshank
10-30-2011, 12:10 AM
http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=207666&hl=starcraft%202&st=640

Brutaxilos
10-30-2011, 12:31 AM
you should also add that playing battlefield 3 will limit your time spent on practicing for SC and that you should stay as far away from it as possible as it will ultimately harm your skills.

Twilice
10-30-2011, 05:51 AM
It's funny that someone says it has been going on for over a month when the drivers are only 2 weeks old. At least those that I have.

Hamshank
10-31-2011, 03:45 AM
this is driving me nuts

Twilice
10-31-2011, 09:12 AM
Still not working for you?
Which card do you use?

Hamshank
10-31-2011, 05:08 PM
285 gtx, too damn sick for minimal computer fixing -_-

sandwich_bird
10-31-2011, 06:13 PM
I play both on a regular basis with a GTX560. I had no problems to date (apart from some rare visual artifact when I fly a jet in bf3).

Hamshank
10-31-2011, 08:33 PM
Deleted old drivers and it still dont worry, incredible...I am going to think a lot more next time before downloading..

Twilice
11-01-2011, 06:21 AM
It really sounds like there is another problem causing this.

TheEconomist
11-01-2011, 12:02 PM
I am going to think a lot more next time before downloading..

The general cautious opinion is that you only update if there are specific benefits to new games you are playing that you need or the drivers have been tested for at least a month.

hyde
11-01-2011, 12:50 PM
Just chill out for a week, AMD just released WHQL drivers.

Im sure nVidia will follow soon, in the mean time - go play some RL :).

TheEconomist
11-01-2011, 02:47 PM
go play some RL .

The graphics are so 14 billion years ago though.

Gradius
11-01-2011, 04:11 PM
go play some RL :).
rofl, that game is so imbalanced it's not even funny. the designers need to get a clue.

Hamshank
11-01-2011, 04:21 PM
I do not care about the driver fucking up SC2 custom maps and single player, I am just afraid it will fuck up future games....RL shall never be the same.

TheEconomist
11-02-2011, 07:56 PM
rofl, that game is so imbalanced it's not even funny. the designers need to get a clue.

Damn drop rates are ridiculous too. I killed 300,000 level 45 Cow til they was dead; no soj.

Hamshank
11-02-2011, 09:18 PM
who here is a regedit pro, apparently I need (aka you) to delete a bunch of regedit files from the old display driver... -_-, cuz I have no experience with this *cry*

TheEconomist
11-02-2011, 10:52 PM
It's incredibly easy. I think I had to mess around with it back in 1999 for some StarCraft map editting. I was 9 and barely knew how to use a browser. Just Google it. If you REALLY, REALLY, REALLY need help you can PM me, maybe I can help when I'm not extremely busy.

Duckyyy
11-03-2011, 10:42 AM
go play some RL :).

I heard theres no respawn on that game...

Peanutbutter
11-03-2011, 11:42 AM
I heard theres no respawn on that game...

What if you get lag 'n shit?

TheEconomist
11-03-2011, 11:51 AM
Forget all that. I hate RL's draconian DRM. It logs me in every time I log off of Battle.net. Just because I'm not playing SC2 DOES NOT mean I wanna play that shitty MMOFPS.


What if you get lag 'n shit?

The designers have created a state-of-the-art infrastructure that prevents nearly all lag. Some have tried to find a way to break the system but no one has been able to. It's virtually unhackable. Albert Einstein himself basically stated that the security measures are virtually indestructible.

Plus, the FPS is over 9000 so you should be fine in regards to the "n shit".

Just make sure you go out and enjoy the ragdoll physics. I recommend pushing morbidly obese NPC's down long flights of stairs. The jiggle simulation is fantastic.

Duckyyy
11-03-2011, 02:15 PM
RL's ingame store is hella annoying aswell, before you can venture out and have a little adventure you need to spend money on worthless items that dont give any stat boosts....9.99 on a pair of shorts that only give little wind and cold resistance...and if you try sneak through the admins come and arrest you. Sucks ass

Crazy_Jonny
11-04-2011, 02:29 PM
This is why I don't update my drivers on a regular basis. If my current ones work I just keep using them till I start having problems. Video drivers that is.

Duckyyy
11-04-2011, 04:01 PM
This is why I don't update my drivers on a regular basis. If my current ones work I just keep using them till I start having problems. Video drivers that is.

One of the best things about having an old crappy card is that you dont need the latest drivers as your model doesnt benefit.

Hamshank
11-04-2011, 06:10 PM
I usually don't update my drivers and when I do there's never been a problem.

What I've been told the problem is there are left over registries from the new driver that are messing up my games.

warrior6
11-05-2011, 12:16 PM
and people cry about AMD drivers...

Hamshank
11-06-2011, 03:59 AM
Tychus is going to help me! thank you!!!

Twilice
11-13-2011, 08:00 AM
Okay so it seems my roomate has gotten this problem. And it's not really a starcraft 2 problem it has something to do with if you got 2 graphics card (one integrated for power saving) and it doesn't switch to them correctly.

So was there any answer for this?